Bed Bugs may Spread Disease

Bedbug research poses a new health concern, which may mean a new need for bed bug mattress protection

bed bugs found in Vancouver hospital with MRSA

Bed bugs are spreading across the United States at a rapid pace; infesting homes, office buildings, and even hospitals! Researchers  in a Vancouver hospital found bed bugs carrying diseases such as MRSA (Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus) and VRE (vancomycin-resistant enterococci) –  according to reports in the June edition of the CDC journal of Emerging Infectious Diseases.

While past research indicates that bed bugs are not known to spread infectious diseases to humans, these findings may shed doubt on that belief. While no further disease transmission through bedbugs has yet been discovered, the phenotype of MRSA found in the bedbugs did match that found in many Eastside patients. Researchers conclude that it is possible that these critters are responsible for transmitting these diseases in overcrowded and impoverished cities. Just one more reason not to let the bed bugs bite!

Protect a bed from bedbugs with bed bug proof encasementsThese findings have encouraged many people to reconsider bed bug prevention plans, including bed bug encasement’s to protect beds, clothing and luggage from infestations. There are proactive steps that you can take prevent bed bugs from infesting your home. Some infestation prevention tips include:

  • Reducing clutter in your home.
  • Encasing your mattresses and box springs with bed bug proof materials.
  • Checking websites like trip advisor for bed bug reports before booking a hotel.
  • Keeping your clothing in certified bed bug proof encasements.

You can read up on more safety tips by visiting bedbug.com today!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • David  On January 11, 2012 at 1:11 am

    My apartment has been infested with bedbugs for over three months which I found out only last week through an inspection of my mattress as well as information my sister had told me about bedbugs. I ended up at my Dermatologist office with bleeding sores and a bad infection which was diagnosed as MRSA through a culture specimen. I have a weakened immune system which has complicated this issue. My question is has their been any instances where bedbugs has given HIV to individuals? Since I’m HIV Positive this is a big concern to my friends! Since my landlord isn’t willing to pay for the heat treatment which is $1300.00 I’m ending up paying for it. Is there anything I can do as a tenant as well? Please help me!

    • Bedbug.com  On January 11, 2012 at 8:16 am

      Hey David, I’m so sorry to hear about your situation. Unfortunately, I hear these horrific bedbug stories too often.
      Regarding bed bugs spreading HIV, I have not read any evidence that this is true. In fact, the above article is the only one I’ve read to date that een hints that bed bugs may spread disease.
      Regarding your landlord, the real answer is that it depends where you live. We have a blog post called ‘bed bugs and the law in NYC’ where you can find some information about NY tenant laws. Also, I believe there was a recent lawsuit against a landlord in Detroit. Hope that helps!

      Best of luck,

      Bedbug.com Customer Support

Leave a Reply

