Don’t Let the Bed Bugs Bite……It’s Not a Cute Rhyme Anymore

When I was younger, every night before bed my mom used to say, ‘don’t let the bed bugs bite.’ It was like our bedtime ritual and I couldn’t fall asleep without her saying it.

Now I am 43 married with 3 children, and I don’t find the bed bug rhyme so amusing anymore.

Seven months ago, my son came back from a school camping trip. He returned with a huge backpack full of dirty laundry, to be expected from a teenage boy, I suppose. However, what wasn’t to be expected was the nightmare he also brought back.

Tuesday morning, my husband and I woke up with huge bites all over our bodies. bed bug bite, bedbug bite, bedbug bites, bed bug bites, bite on arm, bedbug bite on arm, itchy bite, itchy bites, bedbugs itch, bed bugs bitch My husband’s bites weren’t as bad as mine, but nevertheless they were still very bad. I realized instantly that my son’s laundry that I had done the night before must have been infested with bed bugs.

I don’t know how, but they spread all over the house like wild fire. The exterminator found infestations in the crevices of our couches, the bottom of our curtains and in all our mattresses and especially the box springs.

bed bug infestation, bedbug infestation, bedbugs in mattress, mattress, bed bug, bedbug, bed bug mattress, mattress infested with bedbugs

I couldn’t believe it – what used to be a cute rhyme has now turned into a living nightmare for my family and I consisting of sleepless nights full of itching, tossing and turning (which then lead to red and swollen eyes – due to the lack of sleep). The mental and physical stress and anxiety which we all endured was horrendous. Don’t even talk to me about the expense! A good chunk of our savings went into the bed bug treatments.

Thank goodness it’s all over now and I wouldn’t wish that experience on my worst enemy.

The exterminator highly recommended we cover our mattresses, pillows and box springs in anti bed bug protectors, which we did. I listened to every word the exterminator said, like it was holy writ, because I never wanted to have any sort of bug ever again!!

One last sobering point I want to make – while the exterminator did a great job – very professional – he reminded me that even after all the effort, we could easily find ourselves with yet another bed bug infestation next week, because these bugs are smart and travel very easily. However, those encasements make it much easier to prevent them from gaining any serious foothold, and also make detection much easier.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • MarkRight  On March 9, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Interesting blog as for me. It would be great to read more about this topic. Thanx for giving that material.

    • Bedbug.com  On March 11, 2010 at 2:38 am

      Thank you for your feedback, I will be posting another article shortly so stay tuned!

  • NightWalker  On March 8, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Pretty interesting site you’ve got here. Thanks for it. I like such topics and anything that is connected to this matter. I would like to read a bit more on that blog soon.

    Truly yours

Leave a Reply

